Lovely blog award…

DSC_0079a

Wooh, how time flies…

Before I realize it, it has been too many moons since I last made a post…

And while I was lazing away blissfully, a dear blogger-friend, Connie, emailed me with a proposal… would I accept the Lovely Blog award?

It would be ok if I were to break the rules, said she…

And, a few more moons would pass by me before I could actually get out from my lazy state of mind to put up a post…

First, I would like to offer my gratitude to Connie for thinking so highly of my blogging initiatives…

Next, I would like to say ‘gomen nasai’ as I am going to respond through this blog rather than the other blog (Potager Y @ Japan) that was nominated…

Thirdly, I apologize with my body bent at 90 degrees, in that I am unable to nominate any blogs for the award…

As for the seven ‘secret-secret’ things about myself…

1. I am, or was, a certified a commercial pilot with instrument rating. Yeap, that was way back in 1981, when I managed to scrap through the training and was awarded the license. Was due to fly commercially for a major airline but, fate is fate… and one thing led to another and before I knew it, I found myself slipping out of the airline industry, and subsequently parachuting onto the world of academics…

2. And yeap, I am a certified Rescue Diver although I would not say that I am capable of rescuing anyone in the water…

3. And yeap too, I play the Shakuhachi, just for fun. I play this Japanese bamboo flute almost every night before hitting the sack, and I love it… In fact, my normal blogging time slot (after dinner) has been taken over by Shakuhachi time…

4. I am running barefoot these days, and I am training myself to run the half marathon barefoot hopefully within a year or two. If all goes well, I plan to further train myself to run the full marathon barefoot in the future… Too ambitous?

5. Continuing from Point 1, I never dreamed to be an academician in a university. Not that I am complaining… For many years now, I have been teaching in English and Japanese, to both Japanese students and non-Japanese students. It is fun…

6. I should be learning the Mandarin language soon. Been telling myself for decades now, but I have yet to find my marbles to get on with it. But I know, one day, I will do it.

7. Finally, ever heard of a ‘meat-eating herbivore’? You are looking at one…

Oh, the picture above? I shot it a few mornings ago, from the deck on our second floor…

We are lucky to be able to enjoy the sunrise views from our home…

I have grown to adore the beauty of the Japan Inland Sea very much…

15 thoughts on “Lovely blog award…

  1. What an interesting life you’ve had Lrong…you certainly deserve all the awards that come your way. I like that you play the Shakuhachi every night instead of blogging. While I miss your blogs, the flute playing is no doubt much more beneficial for your well being 🙂 I always wanted to learn Spanish…perhaps I will. I never realized that you were right by the water…your beautiful Potager and the water too…who could ask for more?!!

  2. Hi Lrong, Congrats on your well deserved award! What a lovely view you have of the water and how nice that you play the Shakuhachi. I’m glad that you enjoy running. My husband and children are runners but I haven’t gotten into it yet…maybe someday.

    • Running is so fun as I am discovering now… just did a 13 kilometer run in the hills and it feels so good… hope you will try to join your husband and children one day…

  3. You are very welcome my dear friend! I love your blog! I must say- I really enjoyed reading these little known facts about you! Truly interesting! A pilot?! A runner- and barefoot yet?! Wow! Awesome! This was fun – wasn’t it? I’m glad you decided to write about yourself!

    Have a great day!

    Connie ( AKA – Mrs. N)

    • Thank you my friend… I see that the marathons there are held in June and November… can’t get off work in these periods, so that will be something to look forward to when I retire in about 9 years’ time… 🙂

  4. I very much enjoyed learning these ‘secret’ things about you. I’m not sure I could run barefooted — I have enough trouble running wearing shoes. I love your photo.

  5. Hello there, mate!

    I’ve been reading, or you could say, lurking, around your blog for some time now. And quite to be frank with you, I’m so keen on knowing on how you ended up landing a job in Japan. That’s because last time I checked, Japan is one of those countries that has a more stringent rule in giving out jobs for immigrants, or expatriates(like, considering us, immigrants persona-non-grata so to speak).

    Just to let you know that I’m planning on settling down in Japan for good, because I could see myself getting more improvements and development in my life thoroughly, be it in aspects of social, or academics.

    And yes, I’m willing to even take a year gap to study Japanese language before I set foot in any Japanese university, and no, I’m not inclined to go to Japan just because of some influences from anime, manga or even JAV….

    Would like to hear more from you, and for the record, I’m fellow Malaysian by the way.

      • You’re welcome Lrong. Glad that you’ve replied my comment.

        Oh, and I’ve a brief question for you. Do Japanese universities look at international pre-university exam’s results(STPM, A-level, SAM) as well, or, they only take into account of the results of a particular Japanese university’s entrance exams in order to select an international student to enroll in their undergraduate course?

        Thanks in advance.

      • Most if not all of the Japanese universities I know take in students by looking at the combined results from their own entrance exam, plus that of the Examination for Japanese University Admission for International Students (EJU). You may wish to look up the JASSO homepage for more information on this…

  6. Hi Lrong!
    Stumbled on your blog while planning on a self guided visit to Japan. Thank you for sharing such lovely excerpts of your life. Congratulations! While most of us dream of such an ideal , it’s obvious you are living yours! Syabas!

    • Hi there… thank you for dropping by my humble blog… yeap, thank my lucky stars, I am having the time of my life here in Japan… good luck with your visit to Japan…

Thank you for visiting!

Kumquat, Sugar and Pixels

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

The Violet Fern

A Colorful Tale of a Garden in the Making

Sho' Nuff Sistuh's Guide to Organic Gardening

Where organic gardening, sub/urban ecology and food independence meet

Keats The Sunshine Girl

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Visit Malaysia

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

books@me

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Wandering Thought

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Life in Kawagoe

Japanese daily sight

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

My Nice Garden

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

My Little Potted Garden

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

High Desert Garden

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Suburban Tomato

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

இBaŋaŋazஇ

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

STEPH'S GREEN SPACE | My Green Stories | My Garden

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Andrea's Plants, Photos and Travels

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Baking Diary

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

MY LITTLE GARDEN

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Photos by Senior Hiker

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Elephant's Eye

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

S T i l e T To

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Desert Colors

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

No techno stuff allowed!

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

MyJourney

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Kebun Malay-Kadazan girls

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Urutora No Hi

This photo-blog documents the ‘experiments in life’ (borrowing from Mahatma K. Gandhi) of a Malaysian national who has been residing in Japan since 1987.

Palm Rae Urban Potager

A Modern Day Kitchen Garden in the heart of the city- where Organic Living is our daily goal

Garden to Wok

Fresh and tasty!

Out Of My Mind Images

living life with a camera in one hand and a pencil in the other :)

